Back to top
Back to top

Webinar: Advancing Housing Justice Through Policy Engagement

When: 
Thursday, August 27, 2020 -
1:00pm to 2:00pm EDT
Virtual
Add to Calendar

Thursday, August 27 | 1:00p ET | 12:00p CT | 11:00a MT | 10:00a PT

Events of 2020 have spurred an increased interest in policy engagement from funders, knowing that an equitable recovery from COVID-19 and systems transformation will require a real push for change. We know that many funders are also asking very similar questions: What is my foundation legally allowed to do and not do? How can we be successful advocates when we don’t have a dedicated policy staff member? How do we use our policy team to push for racial and housing justice? How can we support our grantees in doing advocacy work?

Funders Together is excited to bring philanthropy this policy webinar for funders who are newer to policy and advocacy work or who are looking to gain insight from their peer’s policy efforts. Join this webinar for a quick primer on what actions philanthropy can take related to policy and advocacy and hear from a few funders – some with dedicated policy staff and some without – about their work and how they use their voice and influence to advance real change by supporting and pushing for equitable policies to end homelessness.

Learning Objectives

  • Learn about what philanthropy can legally do related to policy and advocacy
  • Hear from funders – with and without dedicated policy staff – about how they engage in policy and advocacy work at different levels of government
  • Hear how they support their grantees in thinking about policy and advocacy

Speakers

  • Angela d’Orazio, Senior Program Officer, Homelessness, Sisters of Charity Foundation of Cleveland
  • Seyron Foo, Senior Advocacy Officer, Conrad N. Hilton Foundation
  • Sara Monge, Public Policy Officer, Colorado Health Foundation
Find More By:
Event type: 
Topic(s): 
Issue Areas: