Back to top
Back to top

Monthly COVID-19 Funder Call

When: 
Wednesday, September 16, 2020 -
3:00pm to 4:00pm EDT
Webinar
Add to Calendar

When the COVID-19 pandemic hit in early 2020, Funders Together to End Homelessness organized weekly funder calls for philanthropy to connect and share information about local responses to the impact of COVID-19 on people experiencing homelessness. Starting September 2020, these calls will move to being monthly calls on Wednesdays at 3pm ET / 2pm CT / 1pm MT / 12pm PT.

We will continue to aggregate and share resources on our COVID-19 Responses for Philanthropy resource page and will release an updated version of our COVID-19 Response and Recovery Recommendations for Philanthropy this Fall.

Funder Call Format

Funder calls are active, discussion-based calls. To encourage open dialogue, these calls are not recorded. We start these COVID-19 funder calls with a brief update or resource from a field partner and then switch to discussion between funders on what is happening in their communities and how they are responding.

September 16 Agenda

Discussion: Come prepared to share answers to the following questions at the beginning of this call:

  • What eviction prevention measures or support is there in your community?
  • How are you as a funder thinking about eviction prevention and rental assistance? What questions do you have about eviction prevention, rental assistance, and right to counsel?

Field update: For the second half of this call, we'll hear from Matt Hill, Attorney at Public Justice Center, about preventing an avalanche of evictions and laying the foundation for housing as a human right during the COVID-19 pandemic. Matt will talk about right to counsel as a method for preventing evictions and how local jurisdictions can help pay for this service.

Matt Hill is an attorney and team leader of the Human Right to Housing Project at the Public Justice Center (PJC). The Human Right to Housing Project seeks to protect and expand tenants’ rights to safe, habitable, affordable, and non-discriminatory housing and to fair and equal treatment by Maryland’s landlord-tenant laws, courts, and agencies. Matt also serves as a commissioner on Baltimore City’s Affordable Housing Trust Fund. 

Host Organization(s): 
United Philanthropy Forum
Find More By:
Event type: 
Issue Areas: