Back to top
Back to top

Funder Call: Defending the Equal Access Rule

When: 
Wednesday, August 19, 2020 -
3:00pm to 4:00pm EDT
Virtual
Add to Calendar

Wednesday, August 19 | 3:00pm ET | 2:00pm CT | 1:00pm MT | 12:00pm PT

This funder call is a partnership between Funders Together to End Homelessness and Funders for LGBTQ Issues

On July 23, the US Department of Housing and Urban Development officially proposed a rule that would erase protections for, transgender, gender nonconforming, and gender non-binary people by removing critical equal access protections to regulations that ensure the safety of anyone in need of HUD-funded programs, including in times of disaster. Currently, homeless shelters are expressly directed to accept all people, but the proposed changes would instead allow shelters to reject transgender, gender nonconforming, and nonbinary people simply because of who they are. This proposed roll-back would allow widespread discrimination towards these communities when they are facing becoming unhoused, leaving them less safe and at more risk during the COVID-19 pandemic.

During this funder call, we will hear more about the proposed rule, how philanthropy can take action during the public comment process, and the importance of LGBTQ equity in philanthropy’s work.

We'll leave time during the second half of this call for people to share updates from their community, how the Equal Access Rule will impact their community, especially during COVID-19, and ask for feedback and thought partnership from colleagues around actions philanthropy can take to oppose the rule.

Please note: Participation in our programming is limited to private funders, including foundations, United Ways, corporate giving programs, individual philanthropists, and philanthropy serving organizations (PSOs). You do not have to be a member of Funders Together to participate in this call. If you have questions about your eligibility to register, please contact Stephanie Chan, Director of Membership and Programs at Funders Together to End Homelessness.  

Find More By:
Event type: 
Topic(s): 
Geographic Funding Areas: